To protect and provide for the public health through education, training,
promotion of current public health principles and through uniformity in the
promulgation and enforcement of food and drug laws, and regulations.

Elisabeth (Liz) Wirsing became the 2022-2023 AFDO President during the June AFDO AEC. 
Wirsing serves as the Senior Environmental Health Program Manager at the Vermont Department of Health. This role has included directing Food & Lodging Program work in retail food, manufactured food, shellfish, and lodging since 2010. She also oversees compliance and enforcement activities and other regulatory programs in the Division of Environmental Health. Wirsing completed an MPH in Epidemiology at Emory University – Rollins School of Public Health and the CDC/CSTE Applied Epidemiology Fellowship program. She is a board member of the regional Northeast Food and Drug Officials Association (NEFDOA).

Congratulations to Andrew Chevrefils on his new position with the Vermont Cannabis Board as a Compliance and Enforcement Agent! We will miss Andrew on the NEFDOA Board, and wish him all the best in his new position. Thank you, Andrew, for your time on the Board, and all of your efforts over the years. 

The Northeast Food and Drug Officials Association (NEFDOA) provides a forum for regulators, industry, and other interested parties to discuss regional, national, and international food safety and security issues, and the uniform promotion and provision of effective public health and consumer protection services. Furthermore, NEFDOA offers training opportunities, annual educational conferences, and disseminates food safety and security information.

2019 NEFDOA Conference
NEFDOA’s 109th Annual Educational Conference was held May 14-16, 2019 at the Hotel Northampton, in Northampton, Massachusetts. It was a great success and there were 50 in attendance at the conference. Steve Moris, AFDO President addressed the attendees in the morning session providing updates on the activities of AFDO and Steven Mandernach, Esq. Executive Director, of AFDO, participated in the MRFPS Roundtable on Hemp and CBD with Priscilla Neves, from the Food and Drug Administration, Division of Standards Implementation. Lisa Silva, recipient of the 2018 “Eaton E. Smith Award,” presented the 2019 “Eaton E. Smith Award” to Elisabeth Wirsing, Program Chief for the Vermont Department of Health, Environmental Health – Food & Lodging Program. Cas Tryba, a past recipient of NEFDOA’s Associate Award, presented the 2018 “NEFDOA Associate Award” to Wayne Mello, from Hannaford’s Supermarket.